Geodetic Institute (GIK)

Geodetic use of GPS

Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) is the generic term for realised or planned systems for satellite-based positioning. There are currently four global navigation satellite systems: the US American GPS, the Russian GLONASS, the European Galileo and the Chinese BeiDou. Additional regional and complementary systems such as WAAS and EGNOS are being developed to support GNSS in terms of availability, integrity and reliability.

 

All modern GNSS are passive systems. The essential components are centralized and cannot be influenced by the user. The GNSS user receives satellite signals and can calculate his position, velocity and time. Although GNSS was developed for navigation applications (absolute positioning) with an accuracy in the metre range, it forms more than one measurement system and can be used for high-precision surveying tasks. For this purpose, all occurring error influences, such as tropospheric and ionospheric propagation delays, satellite orbit errors and multipath effects, have to be handled by measurement, evaluation methods, models or the use of reference data. In addition, the use of phase observations for these applications, cm-accurate positioning, is indispensable.

 

GNSS offers innumerable applications for the most diverse areas of life. In addition to navigation applications in shipping, cars or aircraft, GNSS can be used for geodetic tasks. For example real estate surveying, engineering surveying (tunnel network, dam control) or in geodynamics (observation of plate movements or crustal deformation by permanent measurements, observation of seismic movements caused by earthquakes) or monitoring of the atmosphere (troposphere and ionosphere). At GIK, two main topics concerning GNSS applications are important: Monitoring of the troposphere including water vapour content and determination of crustal deformation, especially in the Upper Rhine Graben area.

Test and calibration field for GPS receiving antennae

GNSS-Reference-Station KARL


 

projekt
AtmoWater
gurn
Deformation

Estimation of highly accurate horizontal and vertical surface velocities in the Upper Rhine Graben.

more
mp
Multipath Effects

Analysis of the quality of the GNSS stations of the GURN network due to phase multipath influences.

more
karl
Reference Station KARL

Further Fields of Research

  • Transformation of GPS heights into official heights
  • Comparative study of commercial GPS Analysis Software
  • Time series analysis of GPS observations
  • Developing a tiered approach for the processing of three-dimensional GPS results, taking into account the need for accuracy and reliability
  • Investigation of problems with the transformation of GPS results using national reference systems (strict / approximated ellipsoid transformation)
  • Development of models for the combination of GPS heights with official heights; conversion of GPS heights into official height systems
  • Analysis of the accuracy and reliability of RTK-GPS measurements
  • Use of GPS for high precision engineering surveys
  • Development of Sonar Underwater Navigation System (SUNS) in the Alpbach Summer School "LI Application and Science for Systems Navigation Satellite"
Hansjörg Kutterer
Hansjörg Kutterer
Úniversity Professor, Speaker of the Institute Management Board

+49 721 608-43674hansjoerg kuttererUvt3∂kit edu11201.90 Campus Süd

Geodätisches Institut (GIK)

Geodätische Nutzung des GNSS

Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) ist der Oberbegriff für realisierte oder geplante Systeme der satellitengestützten Positionsbestimmung. Derzeit gibt es vier globale Navigationssatellitensysteme: das US-amerikanische GPS, das russische GLONASS, das europäische Galileo und das chinesische BeiDou. Zusätzliche regionale und Ergänzungssysteme, wie z.B. WAAS und EGNOS werden aufgebaut, um GNSS in der Verfügbarkeit, Integrität und Zuverlässigkeit zu unterstützen.

Alle modernen GNSS sind passive Systeme. Die wesentlichen Komponenten sind zentralisiert und vom Nutzer unbeeinflussbar. Der GNSS Nutzer empfängt Satellitensignale und kann daraus seine Position, Geschwindigkeit und Zeit berechnen. GNSS wurde zwar für Navigationsanwendungen (absolute Ortung) mit einer Genauigkeit im Meterbereich entwickelt, bildet aber mehr als ein Messsystem und kann für hochpräzise Vermessungsaufgaben verwendet werden. Dazu müssen alle auftretenden Fehlereinflüsse, wie z.B., die troposphärischen und ionosphärischen Laufzeitverzögerungen, Satellitenorbitfehler und Mehrwegeeffekte, durch Mess-, Auswerteverfahren, Modelle oder Verwendung von Referenzdaten behandelt werden. Darüber hinaus ist die Verwendung von Phasenbeobachtungen für diese Anwendungen, cm-genaue Positionsbestimmung, unverzichtbar.

GNSS bietet unzählige Anwendungen für die verschiedensten Lebensbereiche an. Zusätzlich zu Navigationsanwendungen bei der Schifffahrt, Autos oder Flugzeugen kann GNSS für geodätische Aufgaben verwendet werden. Zum Beispiel Liegenschaftsvermessung, Ingenieurvermessung (Tunnelnetz, Staudammkontrolle) oder bei Geodynamik (Beobachtung der Plattenbewegungen oder Krustendeformation durch permanente Messungen, Beobachtung seismisch bedingter Bewegungen durch Erdbeben) oder Monitoring der Atmosphäre (Troposphäre und Ionosphäre). Am GIK sind zwei Hauptthemen zu GNSS Anwendungen von Bedeutung: Monitoring der Troposphäre einschließlich des Wasserdampfgehalts und Bestimmung der Krustendeformation insbesondere im Gebiet des Oberrheiengrabens.

 

projekt
AtmoWater Projekt
gurn
Deformation in Oberrheingraben

Schätzung der hochgenauen horizontalen und vertikalen Oberflächengeschwindigkeiten im Oberrheingraben.

mehr erfahren
mp
Phasenmehrwegedetektierung

Analyse der Qualität der GNSS Stationen des GURN-Netzes aufgrund von Phasenmehrwegeeinflüssen

mehr erfahren
karl
GNSS-Referenzstation KARL

Weitere Forschungsgebiete

  • Untersuchungen zur Genauigkeit der Einfrequenz- sowie Zweifrequenz-PPP-Lösung
  • Analysen zur Genauigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit von RTK-GNSS Messungen
  • Modellierung der stationsabhängigen GNSS Fehlereinflüsse
  • Modellierung der Codeverzögerungsvariationen
  • Transformation von GNSS-Höhen in Gebrauchshöhen
  • Vergleichende Untersuchung kommerzieller GNSS-Auswerteprogramme
  • Zeitreihenanalyse von GNSS-Beobachtungen
  • Entwicklung eines mehrstufigen Konzepts für die Weiterverarbeitung der dreidimensionalen GNSS-Ergebnisse unter Berücksichtigung von Genauigkeits- und Zuverlässigkeitsaspekten
Hansjörg Kutterer
Hansjörg Kutterer
Universitätsprofessor, Sprecher der kollegialen Institutsleitung

+49 721 608-43674hansjoerg kuttererKon0∂kit edu11201.90 Campus Süd