Geodetic Institute (GIK)

Physical Geodesy

Since the geodetic boundary value problem in the Molodensky formulation does not allow a closed analytical solution due to the complexity of the boundary surface - the earth's surface - different approximations are introduced in the practical calculation of the quasigeoid. With the internationally renowned work at the chair the approximation errors caused by linearization, spherical and planar approximation could be investigated and numerically estimated. The results of this work are now taken into account in the calculations of highly accurate quasigeoid heights performed by various institutions.

A second focus was and still is the modelling of the effects of topographic masses and isostatic compensation masses on the Earth's gravitational field. Topographic and isostatic reductions have to be considered in connection with the highly accurate geoid and quasigeoid determination, which leads to a very high computational effort with traditional methods. The so-called tesseroid method, which was founded and further developed at the chair, was received with great interest internationally and is now used as a standard by many working groups.

The results of this work are incorporated into a practical calculation of the quasigeoid of Baden-Württemberg, which is carried out in cooperation with the LGL.

In recent work of the Physical Geodesy group an inverse tesseroid approach is used to derive global water circulation in the form of water column heights from the monthly solutions of the GRACE gravity field mission.

The unification of national elevation systems and the creation of a unified vertical elevation reference system has been the focus of the work of the IAG for several years. A unified, global, highly accurate height system is absolutely necessary, for example to be able to detect and quantify the movements of sea level caused by global change. This task methodically leads to an extension of the geodetic boundary value task.

A current focus, which will become more and more important, is the application of variance propagation to various functional relationships within the framework of physical geodesy.

Geoid Afrika
Height Reference Surface for Africa

For several years, an intensive cooperation with Prof. Hussein Abd-Elmotaal from Minia, Egypt and the working group Physical Geodesy of the GIK has existed. Scientific content of the cooperation is the determination of the height reference surface for the continent Africa.

more
Tesseroid
Tesseroid Method

The so-called tesseroid method, founded and further developed at the chair, improves the computing times of topographic and isostatic reductions and is used internationally.

more
Bouger-Anomalien für das Saarland
Bouger anomalies for the German state of Saarland

The interpretation of Bouguer anomalies during prospection allows the localization of deposits of raw materials, which are prominent in the Bouguer anomalies due to their density contrast.

more
Rock-Water-Ice-Model
Global Topographic-Isostatic Model

The so-called Rock-Water-Ice model (RWI model) is based on a three-layer decomposition of the topography with variable density values and a modified Airy-Heiskanen concept incorporating seismic Moho depths.

link
Varianz-Kovarianzmatrix
Quantification of Uncertainty in Gravity Field Modelling

Increased computing power and working memory availability make the quantification of uncertainties in gravity field modelling possible in the form of variance propagation.

more

Further Fields of Research

  • Ellipsoidal and topographical effects in the scalar free geodetic boundary value problem
  • Ellipsoidal effects in the inverse Stokes problem
  • Studies to determine vertical datums
Hansjörg Kutterer
Hansjörg Kutterer
Úniversity Professor, Speaker of the Institute Management Board

+49 721 608-43674hansjoerg kuttererYmq0∂kit edu11201.90 Campus Süd

Geodätisches Institut (GIK)

Physikalische Geodäsie

Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt der Forschung zur Bestimmung und Beschreibung des Schwerefeldes der Erde am GIK waren Beiträge zur verbesserten Lösungen des Geodätischen Randwertproblems. Da das Geodätische Randwertproblem in der Formulierung nach Molodensky wegen der Komplexität der Randfläche – der Erdoberfläche – keine geschlossene analytische Lösung zulässt, werden bei der praktischen Berechnung des Quasigeoids verschiedene Approximationen eingeführt. Mit den international beachteten Arbeiten am Lehrstuhl konnten die durch Linearisierung, sphärische und planare Approximation entstehenden Approximationsfehler untersucht und numerisch abgeschätzt werden. Die Ergebnisse dieser Arbeiten werden heute bei den von verschiedenen Institutionen durchgeführten Berechnungen hochgenauer Quasigeoidhöhen berücksichtigt.

Ein zweiter Schwerpunkt war und ist bis heute der Modellierung der Wirkungen topographischer Massen und isostatischer Kompensationsmassen auf das Schwerefeld der Erde gewidmet. Topographische und isostatische Reduktionen sind im Zusammenhang mit der hochgenauen Geoid- und Quasigeoidbestimmung zu berücksichtigen, was bei traditionellen Verfahren zu einem sehr hohen Rechenaufwand führt. Die am Lehrstuhl begründete und fortentwickelte sog. Tesseroidmethode wurde international mit großem Interesse aufgenommen und wird inzwischen von vielen Arbeitsgruppen als Standard eingesetzt.

Die Ergebnisse dieser Arbeiten fließen in eine praktische Berechnung des Quasigeoids von Baden-Württemberg ein, die in Kooperation mit dem LGL durchgeführt wird.

In jüngsten Arbeiten der Arbeitsgruppe Physikalische Geodäsie wird ein inverser Tesseroidansatz verwendet um aus den Monatslösungen der GRACE Schwerefeldmission globale Wasserzirkulationen in Form von Wassersäulenhöhen abzuleiten.

Die Vereinigung von Landeshöhensystemen und die Schaffung eines einheitlichen vertikalen Höhenreferenzsystems steht seit einigen Jahren im Fokus der Arbeiten der IAG. Ein einheitliches, globales, hochgenaues Höhensystem ist zwingend erforderlich, um z. B. die durch den globalen Wandel verursachten Bewegungen des Meeresspiegels erfassen und quantifizieren zu können. Diese Aufgabe führt methodisch zu einer Erweiterung der Geodätischen Randwertaufgabe. Ein aktueller Schwerpunkt, dem immer mehr Bedeutung zukommen wird, ist die Anwendung der Varianzfortpflanzung auf verschiedenste funktionale Zusammenhänge im Rahmen der Physikalischen Geodäsie.

On this picture you can see the geoid that was computed for Africa.
Höhenbezugsfläche für Afrika

Seit mehreren Jahren besteht eine intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Hussein Abd-Elmotaal aus Minia, Ägypten und der Arbeitsgruppe Physikalische Geodäsie des GIK.

mehr erfahren
This picture shows the geometry of a tesseroid.
Tesseroidmethode

Die am Lehrstuhl begründete und fortentwickelte sog. Tesseroidmethode verbessert die Rechenzeiten topographischer und isostatischer Reduktionen und wird international genutzt.

mehr erfahren
This picture shows Bouger anomalies for the Saarland in Germany.
Regionale Schwerefeldmodellierung

Die Interpretation von Bougeranomalien im Rahmen der Prospektion ermöglicht die Lokalisierung der Lagerstätten von Rohstoffen, welche durch ihren Dichtekontrast in den Bougueranomalien hervortreten.

mehr erfahren
This picture shows the global Rock-Water-Ice gravity model.
Globales topographisch-isostatisches Modell

Das so genannte Rock-Water-Ice Modell (RWI-Modell) ist ein Dreischichtmodell der Topographie mit variablen Dichtewerten und einem modifizierten Airy-Heiskanen-Ansatz unter Einbeziehung seismischer Moho-Tiefen.

mehr erfahren
This picture shows a variance-covariance matrix of a gravity field model.
Quantifizierung von Unsicherheiten in der Schwerefeldmodellierung

Erhöhte Rechenleistungen und Arbeitsspeicherverfügbarkeiten machen die Quantifizierung von Unsicherheiten in der Schwerefeldmodellierung in Form einer Varianzfortpflanzung möglich.

mehr erfahren

Weitere Forschungsgebiete

  • Ellipsoidische und topographische Effekte im skalar freien geodätischen Randwertproblem
  • Ellipsoidische Effekte beim inversen Stokes-Problem
  • Studien zur Festlegung des vertikalen Datums
Hansjörg Kutterer
Hansjörg Kutterer
Universitätsprofessor, Sprecher der kollegialen Institutsleitung

+49 721 608-43674hansjoerg kuttererApz3∂kit edu11201.90 Campus Süd