Geodetic Institute (GIK)

Big Spatio-Temporal Data

Data sources can be e.g. the Sentinel satellite missions.
Exemplary display of raster data at three different points in time.

In the age of steadily advancing digitalization, we are dealing with ever increasing amounts of data. This trend inevitably also affects geoinformatics, which deals specifically with spatio-temporal data.


Big Spatio-Temporal Data is generated by sensors like satellite missions as well as by private users in crowdsourcing projects like OpenStreetMaps. They are therefore difficult to manage not only because of their size but also because of their semantic complexity. Dedicated systems are therefore needed that can cope with the size of the data, the spatio-temporal reference and the semantics.


A first step for organizing such data volumes is the use of efficient geo-database systems and cluster computing for parallel data processing. Furthermore, the integration of existing programming interfaces and the provision of new ones is essential to solve the challenges in an interdisciplinary and sustainable way.


The next step is to ensure the timeliness and data quality, which can be achieved e.g. via intrinsic evaluation criteria and machine learning.


All in all, completely new ways of automatic analysis of enormous spatio-temporal data volumes can be realized.

Geodätisches Institut (GIK)

Big Spatio-Temporal Data

Datenquelle können z.B. die Sentinel-Satellitenmissionen sein.
Exemplarische Darstellung von Rasterdaten zu drei verschiedenen Zeitpunkten.

Im Zeitalter der stetig voranschreitenden Digitalisierung haben wir es mit immer größer werdenden Datenmengen zu tun. Dieser Trend betrifft unumgänglich auch die Geoinformatik, die sich im Speziellen mit raum-zeitlichen Daten beschäftigt.

Big Spatio-Temporal Data entstehen sowohl durch Sensoren wie z.B. Satellitenmissionen, als auch durch Privatnutzer in Crowdsourcing-Projekten wie OpenStreetMaps. Sie sind daher nicht nur aufgrund ihrer Größe, sondern auch wegen ihrer semantischen Komplexität schwierig zu verwalten. Es bedarf also dedizierter Systeme, die mit der Größe der Daten, dem raum-zeitlichen Bezug und der Semantik zurechtkommen.

Ein erster Schritt für die Organisation solcher Datenmengen ist der Einsatz von effizienten Geodatenbanksystemen sowie Cluster Computing für eine parallele Datenverarbeitung. Außerdem ist die Integration bestehender, sowie die Bereitstellung neuer Programmierschnittstellen essenziell, um die Herausforderungen interdisziplinär und nachhaltig zu lösen.

Im nächsten Schritt müssen Aktualität und Datenqualität gewährleistet werden, was z.B. über intrinsische Bewertungskriterien und maschinelles Lernen erreicht werden kann.

In Summe können dadurch völlig neue Wege der automatischen Analyse von enormen raum-zeitlichen Datenmengen realisiert werden.